About the future

So, I don’t know if many of you visit /vn/, or if many of you visit Trip’s rant blog. I figured I’d summarize what Trip talked about in his most recent post that wasn’t part of his ranting. I do encourage you to read it, he does talk about Maki route a bit, but you can skip those spoilers easily.

Basically, it boils down to this. Trip doesn’t really like Tsujidou (the VN) as much as Hatsukoi. To quote his most recent post; ‘the writing style in Tsujidou and the protagonist are a goddamn pain in the ass.’ He likes Maki’s route even less; I won’t talk about why in here, just go read his blog to find out if you don’t mind spoilers. Anyhow, the major point is that Tsujidou isn’t liked as much as we had expected/hoped. I’m pretty neutral on it, but I do have to agree that I am not liking it as much as I had initially thought.

Now, what does this mean for the future? Let me be clear and say that we will not be dropping Tsujidou-san no Jun’ai Road. Don’t worry, we won’t do that to you. What’s more important is what comes after that.

Up until now, I’ve basically been saying that we’ll be doing Tsujidou-san no Virgin Road and Gin’Iro, Haruka after Hoshi Ori Yume Mirai. After reading Trip’s most recent post, it was clear to me that I shouldn’t have done that. It’s easy for me to say what we/(I?) want to do, but honestly – and this shouldn’t need to be said – Triplicate easily does the most of the work out of us two, so I really am in no position to make those claims, which is why I’m making this post right now.

The future, as it is now, looks like this.

  1. Finish Tsujidou-san no Jun’ai Road
  2. Hatsukoi 1/1 Appends (Bonus content – which is basically just more H-scenes – for Yukino, Maya, and Kyou)
  3. Hoshi Ori Yume Mirai

After that, who knows? Like Trip says, ‘And so my plans after Hoshi Ori are still flexible. Assuming I don’t just retire from VN translation at that point. Hoshi Ori might be my peak. It’s why I started in the first place, after all.’ We might just call it quits after Hoshi Ori. We might do Virgin Road, we might do Gin’Iro Haruka, and we might even skip to Tone Work’s’ Mysterious 4th Project. We might do something else entirely. Basically, we don’t know what we will do.

Again I realize that I’ve been parading around saying whatever I wanted, especially after considering the huge mountain of work we have ahead of us looking at the length of Hoshi Ori. We most likely will not finish that in 2018, so that should say plenty.

So yeah, that’s basically where we/Triplicate stand(s) as of now. I guess it’s part because of me just saying whatever I wanted, part because Tsujidou has been a bit disappointing (moreso for Trip) so far that this had to be said.

That’s all for me for now. By the time the next update rolls around, I’ll be back home, so I’ll be doing it again.

See ya next Sunday.

About the future

19 thoughts on “About the future

  1. nossat says:

    nooo~ .. I was looking forward to Azusa’s route ( I read some spoilers about it, so I’m intrigued how it would play out ) – but I can’t blame you guys. Its not worth it if you guys don’t enjoy your work translating it.

    Thanks for letting us know about it in advance!

    Like

    1. Dangohime says:

      pretty much this, doesnt matter if i or whoever likes whichever title more, btw. wishes for it getting translated. in the end all comes down to those actually doing it, and there´s no point in spending hundrets if not a thausand hours of suffering for works you wish for having never existed. just do whatever makes you feel good and the rest of us most probably will still be grateful.

      Like

  2. Eroyama says:

    Maki’s route is atrocious in every way and I understand how having to spend so long translating that can tear on ones patience, not to mention sanity. Renna’s route is miles better, though that may just be my subjective opinion as I really love her character. Here’s hoping the rest of Maki’s route goes quickly for you and that Renna’s route will lift your spirits.

    Like

  3. exoticbutters says:

    We respect every decision you guys make. It’s not like we’re in the position to complain. Thank you so much for your hard work up until now. That can’t be said enough 🙂

    Like

  4. Richy says:

    Since i don’t do anyting i can’t blame you guys. Only intrested in Ai since the setup of the common route makes it so a can olnly go Ai’s route.

    Like

  5. HuckleMyBerries says:

    Dang. BUT if you’re looking for suggestions for a vn then I put my vote to Hatsuyuki Sakura. Its apparently? one of the better rated nakige stories. Not that I know what its really like since I cant read japanese but it seems to have a good score on vndb https://vndb.org/v7302

    Like

    1. Ganjin says:

      Did you read full post? Tsujidou-san -> Hatsukoi 1/1 Appends -> Hoshi Ori. They are set for a long time and I would down vote on v7302 because of art.

      Like

      1. HuckleMyBerries says:

        I did indeed read the full post. “And so my plans after Hoshi Ori are still flexible. Assuming I don’t just retire from VN translation at that point”. You gotta be hopeful AND prepared if you want a miracle

        Like

    2. I must downvote this choice. Hatsusaku is an overrated piece of *** written by retard named Niijima Yuu. It has decent art, and very good OST, but these endings, oh my god these endings…
      No offensive here, but people should know before they plunge into that ***, and please do not recommend vn to translate until you read it.

      Like

      1. HuckleMyBerries says:

        Is it really that bad? I only based it off of its high nakige ratings and generally good score. Also I wouldn’t have suggested it to be possibly translated in the first place if I could already read it :p I mean thats the point of a vn translated, so you can understand it.

        Like

      2. @HuckleMyBerries it is bad. To put it simple Hatsusaku is typical Ghost story salted with Niijima Yuu. He is good at writing, but always, I mean always make endings like *** in any games. For example, do you like girl? – Too bad, she will die at the end or break up with MC for stupid reasons or etc. Key games have more good endings compared to his madness.

        Also, I think, you should recommend something to translate not because is looks so “kawaii”, but you read it, so other people can enjoy it later.

        Like

  6. If you don’t like a game, it’s hard to ask you to work on it in your free time. I’m glad you guys are going to finish the game as it is; while I hope to see the fandisc done one day, I’m not broken up about it.

    Do what you guys want, not what other people want you to do. And thanks for all your hard work.

    Like

  7. First of all, just want to say my opinion about Tsujidou after reading (struggling) some in japanese before you guys started translation. I think everyone has something he likes that is not liked by majority. In that case, it’s a VN here. This VN may easily be not very popular or high-ranked, but someone really loves it. Well, Tsujidou became such thing for me at first glance – i even can’t properly explain why is that (well, Maki + awesome OST are definitely among things that i like here). I just LOVE that VN for some reason, despite knowing it’s not very popular or maybe even among the very good ones. You may call it strange but that’s how it is. And i can easily understand why other people may not like it so much, Trip for example. No offense here, that’s just how i am for loving this game.
    Well, moving on. That’s a relief that you won’t drop translating Tsujidou despite not liking it so much – thank you very much for that!! And considering Virgin Road – i was really looking forward to reading it as well, but if you won’t translate it – it’s your decision, i won’t be angry at you or anything, it’s really hard to do anything when you don’t like what you’re doing (can be said about anything in life, not just translating). I read there are some pretty good characters in Virgin Road, won’t say who it is here. Maybe you’ll eventually translate it someday, but in any case, thank you again for your hard work, really! And looking forward to full patch.

    Like

  8. That’s unfortunate. I read this VN when it first came out and it had been my favorite ever since. I was pretty excited when I heard it was getting a translation. Kind of disappointing to hear the people translating it don’t like it. And if you say people in general don’t seem to be liking it as much, that’s pretty disappointing too.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.